top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon

Ice Princess

The best way to make the most out of the holiday season isn't by spending hours shopping, trying to find that perfect gift for the best price before the shelves become bare.

Colorado is known to be home to active, outdoorsy people so you could say. Even though Denver is still 40 minutes from the foothills of the Rockies, the city maintains that "go outside" attitude.

 

As two post-graduate "adults" living with college debt, my boyfriend and I try to keep most of our activities on the cheaper side. When we heard about a FREE ice skating rink in the city, we were all over it.

Sponsored by Southwest Airlines, the ice rink at Skyline Park is completely free if you have your own pair of skates. They offer rental skates as well that you can purchase. But fear not! The rental skates are only $2.00, I repeat, $2.00! I know all of you have $2.00 to spare in the name of holiday spirit.

The rink is open from late November until February 14th, (yes ladies and gentlemen, keep this in mind for a romantic Valentine's Day date that won't break the bank.) Every Friday you can expect a live band to be the soundtrack to your ice skating adventure. There are your beginner skaters, intermediate skaters and then of course the people that fly around the rink going forwards and backwards. If the thought of falling on your butt constantly turns you off to this whole skating idea, listen up: there are red and blue plastic walkers that you can use. Yes, they are ideally meant for four-year-olds, not 24-year-olds. But I used that puppy the whole time and let me tell you, I flew around that rink with the best of them. My boyfriend was by my side, taking snapchats of my walker and me. Honestly, I had no shame. The last two laps I did do on my own, without the support of my little blue walker.

If you're looking to do something festive under strands of Christmas lights surrounded by Denver's skyscrapers, look no further than Skyline Park. I will definitely be visiting this rink again soon, maybe without the walker this time.

bottom of page